First awarded in 2017, this award was created in honor of Allen. S. Lichter, MD, FASCO, to recognize ASCO members who have transformed the oncology field or significantly advanced the mission of ASCO, Conquer Cancer, or CancerLinQ, LLC, through their leadership, vision, and ability to inspire.

An ASCO member since 1980, Dr. Lichter served the Society in several prominent volunteer roles, including President (1998-1999), Founding Chairman of the Conquer Cancer Board of Directors (1999), and Chief Executive Officer (2006-2016). In his ten years as CEO, Dr. Lichter oversaw the rapid growth of the Society and the launch of important new initiatives to improve the quality and value of cancer care. The Allen S. Lichter Visionary Leader Award honors Dr. Lichter’s commitment and contributions to ASCO and continues his legacy by encouraging and recognizing extraordinary leadership in oncology.

Learn more about Dr. Lichter.

The award is presented during the ASCO Annual Meeting and the recipient is highlighted in ASCO Daily News, on the ASCO website and in other Annual Meeting publications. The recipient is invited to participate in a moderated panel discussion featuring special award recipients and focusing on leadership and mentorship

The award consists of a $5,000 honorarium, a commemorative plaque, and support to the recipient to attend the Annual Meeting in the year the award is conferred. 


To be eligible for this award, candidates must

  • Be an ASCO member.
  • Demonstrate innovative and inspirational leadership is that transforming the oncology field by promoting the highest quality patient care and improving the lives of patients with cancer; or, whose exemplary leadership, vision and commitment have significantly advanced the missions of ASCO, Conquer Cancer, or CancerLinQ; or, whose foresight and ability to inspire the broader cancer community have helped to transform the oncology or cancer experience in a positive way.

Candidates for the award are nominated by the ASCO membership and considered by the Joint Special Awards Selection Committee. The Committee considers all nominations as they have been submitted; recommendations are then forwarded to the Board of Directors for final approval.

ASCO Board Members and Officers are not eligible to receive Special Awards from the time they are elected through the end of the calendar year in which their Board terms conclude. Joint Special Award Selection Committee members are not eligible to receive Special Awards during their service on the Committee.

Please send all inquiries about this award to Special Awards.

2023 Recipient
Monica M. Bertagnolli, MD